solidaritywisconsin

Just another WordPress.com site

Ummm….soooo February 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — wiunion @ 12:43 am

Somebody pinch me, please.

As we drove through fields and fields today, I kept thinking each new farmhouse could have been right out of Wizard of Oz.

And considering the past 36 hours, perhaps it is rather apropo. I, too, have been traveling with new friends, both tall and short. The miles and miles of highway have felt as never-ending as the Yellow Brick Road as we head to a mystical city where all our questions are to be answered.

Blizzards have blocked our way and weariness has threatened to keep us on the straight and narrow. There have been wrong turns and tests of courage, often unexpected.

We are still nearly two hours away, yet the Huffington Post put me on the front page, a screen shot moment. (If there was no screen shot, I wouldn’t have believed it myself. srsly.)

And I had my first (?) run in with someone who gets up in the morning just tonfind ways to undermine working families. The jury is still out on whether or not I was effective, but sometimes it is critical just to get a countervailing voice of sanity (not Hannity) on the airwaves.

I doubt I will be welcome back. I’d chalk it up to a bucket list item, but really… Who dreams of going toe to toe with him?

Tomorrow, the real attacks begin. The idea that idealism exists must be squashed like the bugs some CEOs see us as.

Bring it, Baby. I started out with nothing and I still have most of it. I’m not perfect…far from it. But that’s what makes this countr great- millions of imperfect souls figuring things out and working together.

I packed my favorite red shoes, the ones people always call my ruby red slippers. If things go well, perhaps I will find both my heart and courage along the way. If the scare crows keep surfacing, perhaps we can finally fnd them a brain.

If they do not, I will clique my ruby red slippers and tell myself, “There’s no place like home.”

 

2 Responses to “Ummm….soooo”

  1. Abe Baggins Says:

    I’m so proud of you, Diane. I’m 63 years old and have marched on Washington, the Capitol, the White House and the North Carolina State House after the students at Kent State were killed. What’s going on in Wisconsin is so much more than what most of the media reports. The Kock brothers want nothing less than a corporate ruling class to run the world. This step is about busting the unions, public and private. You’ve got my support and best wishes. Let me know what I can do to help.

  2. Dormilona Says:

    Diane – I was raised in Maine. Reading about your trek to Wisconsin started making me feel proud of my Maine roots. But Maine people know that pride unearned is false pride. So I’m glad you provided opportunity to make a donation to those who are standing up for all of us in Wisconsin. It feels great to be part of this movement even in a small way.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.